NPP Opens Nominations, Aspirant to Pay GH¢85,000


Nana Akufo-Addo, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, Addae Nimoh, Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten and Joe GharteyNPP Opens Nominations, Aspirant to Pay GH¢85,000

06 June 2014

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) is set to open nominations for its flagbearership contest today, June 6, 2014, subject to the approval of the party’s National Council.



The decision was taken at a National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting at the Alisa Hotel in Accra yesterday, setting in motion the process for early congress to cut short the growing bickering among supporters of aspirants – which is seemingly getting out of hand.

A meeting of the National Council, the highest decision-making body after Delegates’ Congress, is therefore expected to be held today during which they would approve the recommendations and subsequently issue out a set of guidelines for the highly-publicized contest.

The recommendations were sent to the NEC by the party’s National Steering Committee, made up of all elected national officers of the party.

DAILY GUIDE sources said the Paul Afoko-led Steering Committee had made recommendations for nominations to be opened today for the National Council to meet on June 19, 2014, to issue out modalities for the elections.

The recommendations were however said to have been shot down by the NEC after several hours of debate, since it would have meant bypassing it (NEC) and the National Council.

The National Council is supposed to flag off the NPP flagbearership contest with the proposed opening of nominations today which is supposed to close by the end of the month.


Cost of the forms, DAILY GUIDE learnt, has been pegged at GH¢10,000 – the equivalent of 100 million (old cedis), while filing fee is expected to be GH¢75,000 – the equivalent of 750 million (old cedis). The total amount is therefore GH¢85,000.00 or 850 million (old cedis).

The fees are equally subject to the rejection or approval of the National Council.

The issue of early congress was said to have come up for discussion with recommendations for congress to be held between August and October to enable whoever gets elected as the party’s flagbearer to do extensive campaigning.


So far, less than 10 members of the NPP have in one way or the other, shown interest in contesting for the position of flagbearer to lead the party for the crucial 2016 general elections.

They include twice-defeated standard bearer, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and the man he had defeated two times in internal elections, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen. Their names are high on the cards as the two main contenders.

Others are the former Member of Parliament (MP) for Offinso-North, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, who headed the Security Committee for Nana Addo’s campaign in the 2012 elections; his colleague former MP for Mfantseman West, Stephen Asamoa-Boateng, popularly known as Asabee and the MP for Asuogyaman, Kofi Osei Ameyaw.

The rest are the sitting 2nd Deputy Speaker of Parliament and MP for Essikado-Ketan, Joe Ghartey; his colleague MP for Subin, Isaac Osei; Mampong MP, Francis Addai Nimo; Nhyiaeso MP, Dr. Richard Anane and celebrated heart surgeon, Professor Dr. Kwabena Frimpong Boateng.

A final decision is therefore expected to be made public by the close of today after the National Council meeting.

By Charles Takyi-Boadu

Source: Daily Guide



 1000 Characters left

Antispam Refresh image Case sensitive

JusticeGhana Group *All Rights Reserved © 2007-2013*Privacy Policy