Paul Afoko urges NPP unity


Paul AfokoPaul Afoko urges NPP unity

14 April 2014

Mr Paul Afoko, the newly elected National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has called on all those who lost in their bid for positions in the just ended National Delegates’ Congress of the party, to join hands with the new executives to build a formidable front to win the 2016 elections.



He said unity was what the party needed to remain strong, and gave the assurance that the newly elected executives were going to work with everybody. “When I was campaigning I consistently referred to all other contestants as my brothers. I assure you, they all remain my brothers with whom we will work together for victory in 2016”.

Mr Afoko who was delivering his acceptance speech in Tamale after he and the other newly elected executives were sworn-in to steer the affairs of the NPP for the next four years, said no one should look at him "with a different lens but as the same person who would work tirelessly" to justify the confidence the delegates had reposed in him.

He said he was overwhelmed by the number of congratulatory messages from leadership of the party, which according to him was a sign of unity. “I was touched when I received a congratulatory message from the wife of Jake Obetsebi Lamptey and other prominent members of the party”, he said.

He described his victory as a triumph for the NPP and not an individual feat, and.thanked all the delegates for the trust reposed in him, while wishing them travelling mercies back to their respective destinations.

Mr Stephen Ntim, on behalf of all the unsuccessful contestants congratulated the newly elected executives and urged them to work hard to bring the party to power in 2016. He described the success of the congress as an NPP victory since the party had been able to choose its leaders without acrimony.

Mr Afoko polled 2,031 votes to beat Mr Stephen Ntim,his closest rival who polled 1,503 votes while the former chairman, Mr Jake Obetsebi Lamptey got 66 votes in the keenly contested election. The fourth contestant, Mr Fred Oware polled 1,135 votes.

Mr Kwabena Agyei Agyapong also defeated the incumbent General Secretary of the party, Mr Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie to become the new General Secretary. He polled 2,529 votes while Mr Afriyie got 1,990 votes. The other contestants for the slot, Mr Yaw Buaben Asamoah and Captain Nkrabea Effah Darteh polled 181 and 46 votes respectively.

Other elected executives are Mr Freddie Blay, First National Vice-Chairperson, Mr Sammy Crabbe, Second National Vice-Chairperson and Mr Frederick Antoh, Third National Vice-Chairperson.

The rest are Mr John Boadu, National Organizer, Mr Sammy Awuku, National Youth Organizer, Madam Otiko Djaba who retained her position as National Women’s Organizer, Mr Kwabena Abankwa Yeboah, Treasurer and Mr Kamal Deen Abdulai, National Nassara Coordinator.

Source: GNA



 1000 Characters left

Antispam Refresh image Case sensitive

JusticeGhana Group *All Rights Reserved © 2007-2013*Privacy Policy